Excellent eccentric eclecticism

Among the weird and wacky records, when I’m asking myself how did this get recorded and pressed, I find one that is peculiar, but actually good.

This one connects players from The Quireboys, It Bites, Take That, Yes, ELO, and others, with ex-postman Jim Brown singing others’ songs Elvis-style – and doing a great job.

For 1997, the song selection is of the time, if stylistically somewhat eclectic, and the playing and production would grace any self-respecting pop-rock album. I’m enjoying the familiar songs, the arrangements, and the sound quality, as well as the Elvis Presley voice done well. It’s an amusing and entertaining album, done seriously as “songs Elvis would have sung”, produced by Martin Smith and Bap Kennedy.

I’m thinking the album title is referencing his Graceland home and Elvis’ decease, not the criminal boneyard or fantasy undead-haunted wasteland!

Leave a comment