Listening with video discs

I finally got to catalogue my music DVDs and Blu-ray discs today.

My recent reading on the nature of musical recordings has led me to rethink my collection. Previously, I thought of them as musical movies, and now they seem more visual music albums.

Having reviewed my disc-playing technology, I connected my Samsung BD-E5300 (2012) Blu-ray disc player by coax cable to my DAC, so now the collection has become part of my music listening instead of a neglected part of our TV viewing.

On close inspection, there’s some seriously interesting recordings, mostly concert performances, collected over more than 20 years.

None of my discs are Ultra HD Blu-ray, and most are DVD, and the contents of the two DVD-Audio disc are not to my taste.

Thus, I have concluded that I don’t need a universal disc player. I did find a SONY UBP-X700 at around NZ$375 as an alternative to the expensive audiophile models, but stock seems to be scarce. I discovered that the three models identified are hard to find and are discontinued from manufacturing. That suggests that something else is on the horizon, or it may simply be that sales are declining as streaming becomes the norm.

Today’s finds at the op shop ($2 each). I find it amusing that CDs are $1 because they are smaller!

Leave a comment