To New Orleans, from Bridlington

Recent record hunting turned up this from 1962. Bob Wallis was born in the 1930s, and by the age of about 20 years had started a jazz band with a focus on New Orleans and dance. He pioneered the popularisation of this style of jazz in the UK in the 1950s and 1960s, even charting a couple of records. Bridlington is a small coastal holiday town on the north east coast of England, in East Yorkshire. It’s intriguing to me as I was born in the same county, and I wonder how he got into New Orleans jazz in the 1950s. New Orleans was certainly beyond my horizon as I grew up in the late 50s, finding my musical pique in Led Zeppelin, Deep Purple, and Wishbone Ash in the early 70s. All these years later, I find his third album in New Zealand!

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bob_Wallis

Leave a Reply

