Do I like smooth jazz?

I tend to baulk at the idea of listening to smooth jazz, as I equate it with easy listening.

According to Wikipedia, smooth jazz is influenced by R&B, funk, rock and roll, and pop styles (separately, or, in any combination), and is downtempo, layering a melody over a backdrop that typically consists of programmed rhythms.
Much of what I’ve heard is not really smooth jazz. But, then again, do such finely delineated sub-genre distinctions really matter? If I like music, I listen to it, and I put a lot of effort into exploring music I’ve not neard before, and sometimes I don’t listen to it again. I like to discern influences and styles, but it doesn’t really matter to me what some people call it. If it doesn’t have soul and feeling, I don’t listen for long.

Here’s an example that I don’t consider smooth jazz:

Leave a Reply

