Cafe Records from MFSL: Dwayne Smith & Art Johnson

I am no longer a Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab virgin! Today’s digging turned up this CD on the Cafe Records division of MFSL, in their Original Master Recordings. These discs are cut from the original studio master and half-speed mastered, then pressed on virgin plastic by JVC in Japan, to ensure “optimum quietness, clarity and durability”.

In 40+ years building a disc collection and pursuing best affordable sound quality, I have never bought an MFSL album new (I think they are way too expensive), and I have never before seen any records or CDs in secondhand stores. Today it cost me the princely sum of $2.

It’s described by Amazon.com as “smooth jazz”, so will I like the music and will it sound special? I’ve not heard these artists’ work before.

Leave a Reply

