Hifi magazines abandoned

A frustrating experience today, when I spotted about 70 discarded hifi magazines in a local charity shop, in a box marked “free magazines” – mostly Stereophile and HifI+ from around 2005-2009. I asked if I could take them and was told “no, they are for customers who can take one when they buy something”. I was allowed to take three! (By the way, I’m a regular   customer for the past 10 years, but as the staff turnover is high they don’t recognise me and realise that).

My bet is that they’ll be there next month and beyond, until they get thrown in the rubbish bin. Sad but true when the holders don’t know what they’ve got, and hardly anyone reads printed hifi magazines anymore.

Leave a Reply

