Intellectuals as audiophiles

There seems to be a connection between high functioning intellects and the appreciation of music in high fidelity reproduction.

Examples include Douglas Adams, Brian Cox, Hugh Laurie, Frank Zappa, Ian Rankin.

Whilst not anywhere near as accomplished as any of them, I have three university degrees, each gained with distinction. My IQ was measured some years ago as 152, and I was a member of MENSA.

Research shows that music connects with brain function and emotions. Was I destined to be an audiophile? How come I never continued with my teenage musical instrument playing (violin, guitar). Somehow my technical brain took over until I refound my artistic side about my 50s, although my music listening has never subsided.

Leave a Reply

